News & Announcements

LW Staff takes on ALS Ice Bucket Challenge
Last week some 9th Grade House Teachers took on the ice bucket challenge and this week LW administrators answered the call.
Digital Media Center now open
TA Request Form for 2014-15 NOW AVAILABLE
Students interested in becoming a Teaching Assistant needs to complete the request form/contract. Click on this link for more information.
Bell Schedule
Please check the Bell Schedule section under the Academics/Counseling tab for more information. We will begin our tumbling block schedule on Monday, August 25th.
Registration and Scheduling Info
Click here for more information.
  Show All »
More News

Counselors

Mr. Daniel Swearingen
(Last names A - De and BCA Students)
310-263-3123    swearingend@centinela.k12.ca.us

Mr. Oscar Pina
(Last names Di - J, 9th Grade House and ASLA Students)
310-263-3125   
pinao@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Karen Hicks
(Last names K - Mo and AMA Students)
310-263-3122    hicksk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Sonia Rojas
(Last names Mu - P and AVID Students)
310-263-3127   
rojass@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Susanne Schulze
(Last names P - Z and MSA Students)
310-263-3121    schulzes@centinela.k12.ca.us

College & Career Readiness Academies

Academy of Media Arts

The Academy of Media Arts (AMA) offers students pathways in digital filmmaking, advanced acting, technical theater, commercial music and 3-D modeling and animation. Students collaborate to conceptualize, write, develop, produce and edit videos, music, theater and animation and must think critically to solve challenging, real-world problems and to negotiate and manage the creative process.

Biomedical Careers Academy

The Biomedical Careers Academy (BCA) at Lawndale High School prepares students to take advantage of the tremendous career opportunities available in health and science. The hands-on, project-based, and problem-based curriculum engages students, allows them to explore the wide variety of health care and science career options, and equips them with knowledge and skills necessary to pursue a career or further education in the biomedical sciences.

Marine Science Academy

The Marine Science Academy (MSA) prepares students for the rigors of a four-year university science and/or physical geography program, with a special emphasis on marine related issues, technology and career opportunities. This mission will be accomplished by a group of committed teachers maintaining a science-based academy in which all students are engaged and claiming ownership of their learning. Students will be provided with a solid framework in which they will feel safe to take on challenges and create their own educational opportunities.

Administrators

Paula Hart Rodas, Principal
rodasp@centinela.k12.ca.us

Dr. Eugene Kwong, Associate Principal
kwonge@centinela.k12.ca.us

Richard Lohman, Associate Principal
lohmanr@centinela.k12.ca.us

Kendra Peterson, Associate Principal
petersonk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Benjamin Wardrop, Associate Principal
wardropb@centinela.k12.ca.us