News & Announcements

Grad Night
Grad Night will be on Monday, June 8th. We will be at Disneyland and California Adventure from the time the park opens until closing. Tickets are $118. If you have a season pass, you can show your pass at the student store and only pay for the bus ride ($15). Students may not drive themselves. All students must take the bus. Please bring the attached, signed permission slip with you when you purchase your ticket.
UCLA Shape Program is here!
The UCLA SHAPE Programs provides educational support services that help and encourage students at Lawndale High School. The UCLA Shape tutors provide peer tutoring and peer mentoring in all areas and subjects. The tutors are available Monday through Thursday from 3:15 to 6:00pm in the Media Center. Students can drop in any time or schedule an appointment through the counseling office.
- RTI Core.
Summer Opportunities
Please click here for more information.
Note from UC system regarding English Placement
Please click here to obtain a letter from the UC system regarding the English placement for incoming students.
AP Info Night for Students and Parents
In the AP Survey, the Info Night was scheduled for tonight but has been postponed to a later date in May. When more information becomes available, it will be posted on the school website and phone calls sent home. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Prom - Last day to purchase tickets is April 24th!
The senior class of 2015 will host Prom at the Belasco Theater. The Belasco Theater is in the heart of downtown Los Angeles. Built in the 1920's, it was recently restored to show off it's beautiful architecture. The theater is currently a hotspot for concerts, release parties, and can be seen in films such as Swordfish with John Travolta, Memoirs of a Geisha, and The Illusionist with Hugh Jackman. We will create a beautiful, fun, and memorable night.
Burn Book Update - March 25, 2015/Grabar libro Actualización - 25 de marzo 2015
Click the title for an update in this situation./ Haga clic en el título para una actualización en esta situación.
ACT Exam in April
Last call for April ACT
  Show All »
More News

Counselors

Mr. Daniel Swearingen
(Last names A - Gomez and BCA Students)
310-263-3123    swearingend@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Karen Hicks
(Last names Gonzalez - Maharaj and AMA Students)
310-263-3122 hicksk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Sonia Rojas
(Last names Maldonado - Penaloza and AVID & 9th Grade AVID Students)
310-263-3127
rojass@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Susanne Schulze
(Last names Perez - Z and MSA Students)
310-263-3121 schulzes@centinela.k12.ca.us

Mr. Oscar Pina
(9th Grade House and ASLA (10-12) Students)
310-263-3125   
pinao@centinela.k12.ca.us

Lorri Peterson
(Secretary - Appointments)
310-263-3106
petersonl@centinela.k12.ca.us

Sonia Villacorta
(Secretary - Appointments)
310-263-3106
villacortas@centinela.k12.ca.us

College & Career Readiness Academies

Academy of Media Arts

The Academy of Media Arts (AMA) offers students pathways in digital filmmaking, advanced acting, technical theater, commercial music and 3-D modeling and animation. Students collaborate to conceptualize, write, develop, produce and edit videos, music, theater and animation and must think critically to solve challenging, real-world problems and to negotiate and manage the creative process.

Biomedical Careers Academy

The Biomedical Careers Academy (BCA) at Lawndale High School prepares students to take advantage of the tremendous career opportunities available in health and science. The hands-on, project-based, and problem-based curriculum engages students, allows them to explore the wide variety of health care and science career options, and equips them with knowledge and skills necessary to pursue a career or further education in the biomedical sciences.

Marine Science Academy

The Marine Science Academy (MSA) prepares students for the rigors of a four-year university science and/or physical geography program, with a special emphasis on marine related issues, technology and career opportunities. This mission will be accomplished by a group of committed teachers maintaining a science-based academy in which all students are engaged and claiming ownership of their learning. Students will be provided with a solid framework in which they will feel safe to take on challenges and create their own educational opportunities.

Administrators

Paula Hart Rodas, Principal
rodasp@centinela.k12.ca.us

Dr. Eugene Kwong, Associate Principal
kwonge@centinela.k12.ca.us

Richard Lohman, Associate Principal
lohmanr@centinela.k12.ca.us

Kendra Peterson, Associate Principal
petersonk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Benjamin Wardrop, Associate Principal
wardropb@centinela.k12.ca.us