News & Announcements

Last week of school Bell Schedule (June 8 – June 12)
Senior Awards Night
Cardinal Staff,

Please join us in celebrating our Class of 2015 Seniors.


Lawndale High School
presents
Class of 2015
Senior Awards Night

Thursday, June 4, 2015
6:00 p.m.


Centinela Valley Center for the Arts (CVCA)
14901 South Inglewood Avenue
Lawndale, California
Vote and win!
High School Nation (the group that did our Lawndella Music Festival) is offering us the chance to win a PROM put on by them FOR FREE for 2016! Watch Dr. Rodas and Mr. Olvera and vote once a day for Lawndale! Follow the link to the High School Nation home page.
Senior Activities and Graduation
Summer Reading 2015 Information
Download the attached file below for more information on Summer Reading
Senior Pictures
The senior panoramic picture will take place at the senior BBQ on June 9th. If you order a picture from the student store, you must pick it up over the summer. Wear your class color (orange).

If you are interested in purchasing senior portraits, you may contact Lifetouch customer service at 310-542-5000.
Class Officer Elections
Click on the link below to see the video. Voting will take place in period 6 on Friday, May 1st. Staff members must scan votes by 3:30 pm for votes to count.

Voting for open positions will take place in the fall. If you are interested in joining ASB, please contact Ms. Klein in room A-132.
LHS Senior Scholarship Application
"Attention Seniors, apply to the Lawndale High School Scholarship. It's one application for several scholarship opportunities. Come get an application from your Counselor and return it by Thursday, May 8th before 3:00 p.m. to Ms. Rojas in the Counseling Center.
  Show All »
More News

Counselors

Mr. Daniel Swearingen
(Last names A - Gomez and BCA Students)
310-263-3123    swearingend@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Karen Hicks
(Last names Gonzalez - Maharaj and AMA Students)
310-263-3122 hicksk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Sonia Rojas
(Last names Maldonado - Penaloza and AVID & 9th Grade AVID Students)
310-263-3127
rojass@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Susanne Schulze
(Last names Perez - Z and MSA Students)
310-263-3121 schulzes@centinela.k12.ca.us

Mr. Oscar Pina
(9th Grade House and ASLA (10-12) Students)
310-263-3125   
pinao@centinela.k12.ca.us

Lorri Peterson
(Secretary - Appointments)
310-263-3106
petersonl@centinela.k12.ca.us

College & Career Readiness Academies

Academy of Media Arts

The Academy of Media Arts (AMA) offers students pathways in digital filmmaking, advanced acting, technical theater, commercial music and 3-D modeling and animation. Students collaborate to conceptualize, write, develop, produce and edit videos, music, theater and animation and must think critically to solve challenging, real-world problems and to negotiate and manage the creative process.

Biomedical Careers Academy

The Biomedical Careers Academy (BCA) at Lawndale High School prepares students to take advantage of the tremendous career opportunities available in health and science. The hands-on, project-based, and problem-based curriculum engages students, allows them to explore the wide variety of health care and science career options, and equips them with knowledge and skills necessary to pursue a career or further education in the biomedical sciences.

Marine Science Academy

The Marine Science Academy (MSA) prepares students for the rigors of a four-year university science and/or physical geography program, with a special emphasis on marine related issues, technology and career opportunities. This mission will be accomplished by a group of committed teachers maintaining a science-based academy in which all students are engaged and claiming ownership of their learning. Students will be provided with a solid framework in which they will feel safe to take on challenges and create their own educational opportunities.

Administrators

Dr. Paula Hart Rodas, Principal
rodasp@centinela.k12.ca.us

Dr. Eugene Kwong, Associate Principal
kwonge@centinela.k12.ca.us

Richard Lohman, Associate Principal
lohmanr@centinela.k12.ca.us

Kendra Peterson, Associate Principal
petersonk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Benjamin Wardrop, Associate Principal
wardropb@centinela.k12.ca.us