News & Announcements

Free Flu Vaccine
Comités Escolares-Haga Click Aqui
School Committees-Click Here
Tutoring Schedule is now Available
Homecoming Tickets On Sale Now
All grades are welcome! Dress is semi-formal. If you would like to bring an off-campus guest, please go to the ASB page to download a dance contract to be signed by your guest's school.

Ticket prices:
Week 1: $20 w/ ASB $25 w/o ASB
Week 2: $25 w/ ASB $30 w/o ASB
Week 3 $30 w/ ASB $35 w/o ASB

Purchase an ASB sticker for $25 if you want to get the lower price on Homecoming and all dances.
PSAT/NMSQT on October 15, 2014
All 10th grader students will take the PSAT for free. 9th and 11th grade students need to pay $14 to the Student Store by September 26.
Back to School Night
Join the faculty and staff of Lawndale High School for an informative night; meet your student's teachers and see what it's like to be a Cardinal. Click here for a schedule of the event.
Gates Millennium Scholarship
Cardinals, the Gates Millennium Scholarship Application is now available at gmsp.org, this scholarship will pay all your university studies, any university in the nation, up to your Ph.D. You need a nominator and recommender. For more information, see Ms. Rojas in the Counseling Center during Nutrition Break, Lunch of after school.
  Show All »
More News

Counselors

Mr. Daniel Swearingen
(Last names A - De and BCA Students)
310-263-3123    swearingend@centinela.k12.ca.us

Mr. Oscar Pina
(Last names Di - J, 9th Grade House and ASLA Students)
310-263-3125   
pinao@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Karen Hicks
(Last names K - Mo and AMA Students)
310-263-3122    hicksk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Sonia Rojas
(Last names Mu - P and AVID Students)
310-263-3127   
rojass@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Susanne Schulze
(Last names P - Z and MSA Students)
310-263-3121    schulzes@centinela.k12.ca.us

College & Career Readiness Academies

Academy of Media Arts

The Academy of Media Arts (AMA) offers students pathways in digital filmmaking, advanced acting, technical theater, commercial music and 3-D modeling and animation. Students collaborate to conceptualize, write, develop, produce and edit videos, music, theater and animation and must think critically to solve challenging, real-world problems and to negotiate and manage the creative process.

Biomedical Careers Academy

The Biomedical Careers Academy (BCA) at Lawndale High School prepares students to take advantage of the tremendous career opportunities available in health and science. The hands-on, project-based, and problem-based curriculum engages students, allows them to explore the wide variety of health care and science career options, and equips them with knowledge and skills necessary to pursue a career or further education in the biomedical sciences.

Marine Science Academy

The Marine Science Academy (MSA) prepares students for the rigors of a four-year university science and/or physical geography program, with a special emphasis on marine related issues, technology and career opportunities. This mission will be accomplished by a group of committed teachers maintaining a science-based academy in which all students are engaged and claiming ownership of their learning. Students will be provided with a solid framework in which they will feel safe to take on challenges and create their own educational opportunities.

Administrators

Paula Hart Rodas, Principal
rodasp@centinela.k12.ca.us

Dr. Eugene Kwong, Associate Principal
kwonge@centinela.k12.ca.us

Richard Lohman, Associate Principal
lohmanr@centinela.k12.ca.us

Kendra Peterson, Associate Principal
petersonk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Benjamin Wardrop, Associate Principal
wardropb@centinela.k12.ca.us