Lawndale High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Lawndale Rocks!  Respect - Ownership - Commitment - Kindness - Safety
En Español
California Distinguished School

SRLA 2015

#GettyMuseum

LW Peer Mediators recognized for their efforts.

ELAC General Parent Meeting 04/16/16

Track Team 2015

Facebook

Twitter

College & Career Readiness Academies

Academy of Media Arts

The Academy of Media Arts (AMA) was created in 2008 as a small learning community for students interested in the digital media arts. It has evolved over the years, but has always sought to foster a community of learners focused on creative and collaborative project-based learning.

American Sign Language Academy

The American Sign Language Academy (ASLA) prepares students to work with the Deaf Community and pursue an exciting career. American Sign Language is the 3rd most used language in the country, still, it's availability is limited. As a result, interpreters, Deaf advocates and teachers of Deaf students are in high demand.

Biomedical Careers Academy

The Biomedical Careers Academy (BCA) at Lawndale High School prepares students to take advantage of the tremendous career opportunities available in health and science. The hands-on, project-based, and problem-based curriculum engages students, allows them to explore the wide variety of health care and science career options, and equips them with knowledge and skills necessary to pursue a career or further education in the biomedical sciences.

Marine Science Academy

The Marine Science Academy (MSA) prepares students for the rigors of a four-year university science and/or physical geography program, with a special emphasis on marine related issues, technology and career opportunities. This mission will be accomplished by a group of committed teachers maintaining a science-based academy in which all students are engaged and claiming ownership of their learning. Students will be provided with a solid framework in which they will feel safe to take on challenges and create their own educational opportunities.

Administrators

Dr. Paula Hart Rodas, Principal
rodasp@centinela.k12.ca.us

Dr. Eugene Kwong, Associate Principal
kwonge@centinela.k12.ca.us

Kendra Peterson, Associate Principal
petersonk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Benjamin Wardrop, Associate Principal
wardropb@centinela.k12.ca.us

Miguel Taylor, Associate Principal
taylorm@centinela.k12.ca.us

News & Announcements

Senior Checklist

Open the article to find a quick list of all the things you need to do. NOTE: You must be logged on to your @cvuhsd.org to take the surveys

Future Cardinals Summer Reading

Current and future Lawndale Cardinals, please make sure you are completing your summer reading and coordinating assignments before you return to school in August. Please see the attached document for more details. ROCKS!

Show All News »
More News

Counselors

Lawndale HS 2015-16
Counselor's Contact Information (Academy, Alpha, Phone Extension, and Email)

Mr. Daniel Swearingen
(BCA & Last names A - Garcia, G.)
310-263-3123    swearingend@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Karen Hicks
(AMA & Last names Garcia, J. - Lopez, K.)
310-263-3122 hicksk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Mr. Oscar Pina
(9th Grade Cardinal House & ASLA (10-12))
310-263-3125
pinao@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Sonia Rojas
(AVID (9-12) & Last names Lopez, R. - Portillo)
310-263-3127
rojass@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Susanne Schulze
(MSA (9-12) & Last names Prado - Z)
310-263-3121 schulzes@centinela.k12.ca.us

Lorri Peterson
(Secretary - Appointments)
310-263-3106
petersonl@centinela.k12.ca.us

Report Student Absences

To report a student absence, please call (310) 263-3131. Please leave the following information:

  • Your student's name and ID#
  • Your name
  • Your relationship to the student
  • Reason for the absence
  • Date of absence

You may also submit an absence note to the attendance office. All phone calls or absence notes must be submitted within 3 days of the absence.

Upcoming Events

All Periods Schedule
Date: 5/1/2017
Location: Lawndale HS
Hula Club selling Yam Lei
Date: 5/1/2017 6/8/2017
Advanced Chem Field Trip to UCLA
Date: 5/1/2017, 7:30 AM 3 PM
Location: 405 Hilgard Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90095
Show Calendar More Events
Official Partner of Arts for All
Suggestions or Comments Click Here
PSAT Student Guide

PSAT Student Guide