News & Announcements

Burn Book Update - March 25, 2015/Grabar libro Actualización - 25 de marzo 2015
Click the title for an update in this situation./ Haga clic en el título para una actualización en esta situación.
Spring Break Information
School campus closed March 27-April 5 for Spring Break, the campus will reopen on Monday, April 6, 2015.
Summer School applications are still being accepted for Summer 2015 for current Lawndale students only. Please download an application and submit to Lorri Peterson in the Student Services building. (please attach an application for download)
Enrollment for 2015-16 school year is still open for all grades. The enrollment & registration office will reopen on Monday, April 6, 2015. The hours are from 8:00 a.m. – noon.
ACT Exam in April
Last call for April ACT
ADDITIONAL Burn Book Posts and Safety Concerns
Additional postings to Burn Book were made today. Please click on the title of this article to find out more information about how LHS and CVUHSD are handling this latest issue.
Comentarios adicionales se han publicado hoy en el sitio social Burn Book.
Comentarios adicionales se han publicado hoy en el sitio social Burn Book. Por favor de hacer clic en el titulo de este artículo para averiguar más información sobre como Lawndale High School y Centinela Valley UHSD van a manejar este último asunto.
Scholarship Opportunities
Click here for more information on scholarship opportunities.
Summer School 2015
Dates for Summer School are June 23rd-July 28th from 8am-12:40pm Monday-Friday. More information will be announced as it becomes available.
Senior Packages
Please see the attached flyer for days and times that you can purchase your packages.
  Show All »
More News

Counselors

Mr. Daniel Swearingen
(Last names A - Gomez and BCA Students)
310-263-3123    swearingend@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Karen Hicks
(Last names Gonzalez - Maharaj and AMA Students)
310-263-3122 hicksk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Sonia Rojas
(Last names Maldonado - Penaloza and AVID & 9th Grade AVID Students)
310-263-3127
rojass@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Susanne Schulze
(Last names Perez - Z and MSA Students)
310-263-3121 schulzes@centinela.k12.ca.us

Mr. Oscar Pina
(9th Grade House and ASLA (10-12) Students)
310-263-3125   
pinao@centinela.k12.ca.us

Lorri Peterson
(Secretary - Appointments)
310-263-3106
petersonl@centinela.k12.ca.us

Sonia Villacorta
(Secretary - Appointments)
310-263-3106
villacortas@centinela.k12.ca.us

College & Career Readiness Academies

Academy of Media Arts

The Academy of Media Arts (AMA) offers students pathways in digital filmmaking, advanced acting, technical theater, commercial music and 3-D modeling and animation. Students collaborate to conceptualize, write, develop, produce and edit videos, music, theater and animation and must think critically to solve challenging, real-world problems and to negotiate and manage the creative process.

Biomedical Careers Academy

The Biomedical Careers Academy (BCA) at Lawndale High School prepares students to take advantage of the tremendous career opportunities available in health and science. The hands-on, project-based, and problem-based curriculum engages students, allows them to explore the wide variety of health care and science career options, and equips them with knowledge and skills necessary to pursue a career or further education in the biomedical sciences.

Marine Science Academy

The Marine Science Academy (MSA) prepares students for the rigors of a four-year university science and/or physical geography program, with a special emphasis on marine related issues, technology and career opportunities. This mission will be accomplished by a group of committed teachers maintaining a science-based academy in which all students are engaged and claiming ownership of their learning. Students will be provided with a solid framework in which they will feel safe to take on challenges and create their own educational opportunities.

Administrators

Paula Hart Rodas, Principal
rodasp@centinela.k12.ca.us

Dr. Eugene Kwong, Associate Principal
kwonge@centinela.k12.ca.us

Richard Lohman, Associate Principal
lohmanr@centinela.k12.ca.us

Kendra Peterson, Associate Principal
petersonk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Benjamin Wardrop, Associate Principal
wardropb@centinela.k12.ca.us