News & Announcements

Schedule Changes

CHANGE OF DATE:
All requests for schedule changes MUST be submitted to Ms. Lorri Peterson, Counseling Secretary, by WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 26TH AT 3:30 P.M. Absolutely no requests will be accepted after this date.
Counselors will call students in to the office or send the change of schedule to their class. Please note that all changes are subject to space in the class.

Understanding Lawndale's New Bell Schedule

Click the link to view an explanation of the new schedule, FAQs, and a listing of the days each schedule happens.

Haga clic en el enlace para ver una explicación de los nuevos horarios, preguntas frecuentes, y una lista de los días cada horario sucede.

Colleges and Their Requirements

Please click here for more information on the requirements for Community Colleges, CSUs, UCs, Privates and out of states. This document will help students know exactly what they need to get to the institutions they desire. - Ms. Sonia Rojas

Senior Photos

Seniors, you will be contacted by LifeTouch in the coming weeks regarding your senior portraits.

Free SAT Prep

Attention ALL students! You can start preparing for the SAT and ACT starting in 9th grade and every year on. See links below and take advantage of this great opportunity.

FREE SAT PREP!




Hawthorne Teen Center (Prairie & El Segundo)

www.khanacademy.org

https://www.number2.com/

http://ineedapencil.ck12.org/

http://www.ck12.org/student/

Show All »
More News

Counselors

Mr. Daniel Swearingen
(Last names A - Gomez and BCA Students)
310-263-3123    swearingend@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Karen Hicks
(Last names Gonzalez - Maharaj and AMA Students)
310-263-3122 hicksk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Sonia Rojas
(Last names Maldonado - Penaloza and AVID & 9th Grade AVID Students)
310-263-3127
rojass@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Susanne Schulze
(Last names Perez - Z and MSA Students)
310-263-3121 schulzes@centinela.k12.ca.us

Mr. Oscar Pina
(9th Grade House and ASLA (10-12) Students)
310-263-3125   
pinao@centinela.k12.ca.us

Lorri Peterson
(Secretary - Appointments)
310-263-3106
petersonl@centinela.k12.ca.us

College & Career Readiness Academies

Academy of Media Arts

The Academy of Media Arts (AMA) offers students pathways in digital filmmaking, advanced acting, technical theater, commercial music and 3-D modeling and animation. Students collaborate to conceptualize, write, develop, produce and edit videos, music, theater and animation and must think critically to solve challenging, real-world problems and to negotiate and manage the creative process.

Biomedical Careers Academy

The Biomedical Careers Academy (BCA) at Lawndale High School prepares students to take advantage of the tremendous career opportunities available in health and science. The hands-on, project-based, and problem-based curriculum engages students, allows them to explore the wide variety of health care and science career options, and equips them with knowledge and skills necessary to pursue a career or further education in the biomedical sciences.

Marine Science Academy

The Marine Science Academy (MSA) prepares students for the rigors of a four-year university science and/or physical geography program, with a special emphasis on marine related issues, technology and career opportunities. This mission will be accomplished by a group of committed teachers maintaining a science-based academy in which all students are engaged and claiming ownership of their learning. Students will be provided with a solid framework in which they will feel safe to take on challenges and create their own educational opportunities.

Administrators

Dr. Paula Hart Rodas, Principal
rodasp@centinela.k12.ca.us

Dr. Eugene Kwong, Associate Principal
kwonge@centinela.k12.ca.us

Kendra Peterson, Associate Principal
petersonk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Benjamin Wardrop, Associate Principal
wardropb@centinela.k12.ca.us