News & Announcements

JPL Invention Challenge Competition Regionals 2014
PARENTS-Would you like to help your teen manage stress?
The Second in a Series of Effective Parenting Workshop presented by Aaron Mason, Parenting Instructor
Date: Saturday, December 6
Time: 8:30-10:30 AM
Location: Lawndale HS Media Center
Back on Track Meetings
December 2 (10th grade) & December 4 (11th grade)
2015-2016 9th Grade Priority Enrollment
Click the headline for more information on Priority Enrollment dates and times.
Senior Packages
Please see the attached flyer for days and times that you can purchase your packages.
Senior Parent Info Night
Come to the CVCA from 6-7:30 on Tuesday, October 21st to find out about senior packages, yearbook pricing and college and graduation information. Bring your checkbooks - you will be able to make a down payment on the spot. See the "Senior Packages" announcement for the pricing and order forms.
Take the Pledge and get a Free Taco Bell Taco - Week 1 Winners!
Go to www.GraduateForMas.com and pledge to graduate (all grades can take the pledge). After you sign up, you can earn prizes for yourself or Lawndale High School by playing the games (things like movie tickets, Beats headphones, celebrity principal for a day, a free DJ, cash, etc.). Let's show the world that Lawndale High School students are COMMITTED to graduating!
Free Flu Vaccine
  Show All »
More News

Counselors

Mr. Daniel Swearingen
(Last names A - Gomez and BCA Students)
310-263-3123    swearingend@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Karen Hicks
(Last names Gonzalez - Maharaj and AMA Students)
310-263-3122 hicksk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Sonia Rojas
(Last names Maldonado - Penaloza and AVID & 9th Grade AVID Students)
310-263-3127
rojass@centinela.k12.ca.us

Ms. Susanne Schulze
(Last names Perez - Z and MSA Students)
310-263-3121 schulzes@centinela.k12.ca.us

Mr. Oscar Pina
(9th Grade House and ASLA (10-12) Students)
310-263-3125   
pinao@centinela.k12.ca.us

Lorri Peterson
(Secretary - Appointments)
310-263-3106
petersonl@centinela.k12.ca.us

Sonia Villacorta
(Secretary - Appointments)
310-263-3106
villacortas@centinela.k12.ca.us

College & Career Readiness Academies

Academy of Media Arts

The Academy of Media Arts (AMA) offers students pathways in digital filmmaking, advanced acting, technical theater, commercial music and 3-D modeling and animation. Students collaborate to conceptualize, write, develop, produce and edit videos, music, theater and animation and must think critically to solve challenging, real-world problems and to negotiate and manage the creative process.

Biomedical Careers Academy

The Biomedical Careers Academy (BCA) at Lawndale High School prepares students to take advantage of the tremendous career opportunities available in health and science. The hands-on, project-based, and problem-based curriculum engages students, allows them to explore the wide variety of health care and science career options, and equips them with knowledge and skills necessary to pursue a career or further education in the biomedical sciences.

Marine Science Academy

The Marine Science Academy (MSA) prepares students for the rigors of a four-year university science and/or physical geography program, with a special emphasis on marine related issues, technology and career opportunities. This mission will be accomplished by a group of committed teachers maintaining a science-based academy in which all students are engaged and claiming ownership of their learning. Students will be provided with a solid framework in which they will feel safe to take on challenges and create their own educational opportunities.

Administrators

Paula Hart Rodas, Principal
rodasp@centinela.k12.ca.us

Dr. Eugene Kwong, Associate Principal
kwonge@centinela.k12.ca.us

Richard Lohman, Associate Principal
lohmanr@centinela.k12.ca.us

Kendra Peterson, Associate Principal
petersonk@centinela.k12.ca.us

Benjamin Wardrop, Associate Principal
wardropb@centinela.k12.ca.us